1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to: Create a ContentPack

A complete walk through on how to create a ContentPack.

  1. nilllzz
    Offline

    nilllzz Kolben Developer

    • Administrator
    • P3D Developer
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Credit:
    P15,675.13
    Gamejolt ID:
    nilllzz
    nilllzz submitted a new resource:

    How to: Create a ContentPack - A complete walk through on how to create a ContentPack.

    Read more about this resource...
     
  2. Tornado9797
    Offline

    Tornado9797 Content Developer

    • Global Moderator
    • P3D Developer
    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Trophy Points:
    179
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas, United States of America
    Credit:
    P138,403.88
    Gamejolt ID:
    Tornado9797 7979odanroT
    Can't ContentPacks also alter fonts and models?
     
  3. jianmingyong
    Offline

    jianmingyong Guest

    Credit:
    P
    The first time I did the font, I though it do not work since it do not change when you press apply but when I test it by closing and open again. It work :p
     
  4. nilllzz
    Offline

    nilllzz Kolben Developer

    • Administrator
    • P3D Developer
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Credit:
    P15,675.13
    Gamejolt ID:
    nilllzz
    Yeah good points, I will add those in.
     
  5. Tornado9797
    Offline

    Tornado9797 Content Developer

    • Global Moderator
    • P3D Developer
    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Trophy Points:
    179
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas, United States of America
    Credit:
    P138,403.88
    Gamejolt ID:
    Tornado9797 7979odanroT
    I tried adding a backdrop to my pack, but it ended up crashing my game:
    Code:
    Kolben Games Crash Log V 2.1
    Pokémon 3D has crashed!
    //Missingno.
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Game information:
    
    Pokémon 3D Indev version: 0.46.2
    Content Packs: {}
    Active GameMode: Pokemon 3D
    GameJolt Account: FALSE
    Playing on Servers: FALSE
    Game Environment: MainMenuScreen
    Actionscript: No script running
    File Validation: True
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    System specifications:
    
    Operating system: Microsoft Windows 8.1 [6.2.9200.0]
    System time: 4/21/2014 7:02:52 PM
    System language: English (United States)(ENU) / Loaded game language: en
    Decimal separator: .
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Graphics Card information:
    
    [CardName(s): "AMD Radeon HD 8570D"]
    [CardRAM(s) : "805306368"]
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Error information:
    
    Message: An unexpected error has occurred.
    InnerException: NOTHING
    BaseException: An unexpected error has occurred.
    HelpLink: No helplink available.
    Data: Items: 0
    Source: Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Graphics
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Error solution:
    (The provided solution might not work for your problem)
    
    Error ID: -1
    Error Type: NaN
    Error Description: The error is undocumented in the error handling system.
    Error Solution: NaN
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    CallStack: 
    
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Graphics.Texture2D..ctor(GraphicsDevice graphicsDevice, Stream stream, Int32 width, Int32 height, XnaImageOperation operation)
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Graphics.Texture2D.FromStream(GraphicsDevice graphicsDevice, Stream stream)
       at _2._5DHero.MainMenuScreen.ButtonPackInformation()
       at _2._5DHero.MainMenuScreen.UpdatePacksMenu()
       at _2._5DHero.MainMenuScreen.Update()
       at _2._5DHero.Basic.Update(GameTime gameTime)
       at _2._5DHero.DGame.Update(GameTime gameTime)
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.Tick()
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.HostIdle(Object sender, EventArgs e)
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GameHost.OnIdle()
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.WindowsGameHost.RunOneFrame()
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.WindowsGameHost.ApplicationIdle(Object sender, EventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.System.Windows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.IMsoComponent.FDoIdle(Int32 grfidlef)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ComponentManager.System.Windows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.IMsoComponentManager.FPushMessageLoop(IntPtr dwComponentID, Int32 reason, Int32 pvLoopData)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoopInner(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoop(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run(Form mainForm)
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.WindowsGameHost.Run()
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.RunGame(Boolean useBlockingRun)
       at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.Run()
       at _2._5DHero.Program.Main(String[] args)
    
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    You should report this error.
    
    Go to "http://pokemon3d.net/forum/forums/6/create-thread" to report this crash there.
    
     
  6. nilllzz
    Offline

    nilllzz Kolben Developer

    • Administrator
    • P3D Developer
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Credit:
    P15,675.13
    Gamejolt ID:
    nilllzz
    Just tried it with a random .png file and it works fine. Are you sure its a .png file that you didn't rename from for example a .jpg?
     
  7. Tornado9797
    Offline

    Tornado9797 Content Developer

    • Global Moderator
    • P3D Developer
    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Trophy Points:
    179
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas, United States of America
    Credit:
    P138,403.88
    Gamejolt ID:
    Tornado9797 7979odanroT
    It was originally a bitmap image that I converted to a png...
     
  8. nilllzz
    Offline

    nilllzz Kolben Developer

    • Administrator
    • P3D Developer
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Credit:
    P15,675.13
    Gamejolt ID:
    nilllzz
    How did you convert it?
     
  9. Tornado9797
    Offline

    Tornado9797 Content Developer

    • Global Moderator
    • P3D Developer
    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Trophy Points:
    179
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas, United States of America
    Credit:
    P138,403.88
    Gamejolt ID:
    Tornado9797 7979odanroT
    I used that term very loosely... I just changed the extension through renaming it. It appeared to work, as I opened a png viewer and it worked perfectly in there.
     
  10. nilllzz
    Offline

    nilllzz Kolben Developer

    • Administrator
    • P3D Developer
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Credit:
    P15,675.13
    Gamejolt ID:
    nilllzz
    Exactly what I expected.
    File extensions don't define the file type. They are just used by operating system so they know which program to use when you want to open the file.
    It works with the image viewer you used because they can open both, png and bmp.
    But internally, the file is still a bitmap file.
    That is why P3D crashed trying to load it: It cannot load bitmap files.
     
  11. Tornado9797
    Offline

    Tornado9797 Content Developer

    • Global Moderator
    • P3D Developer
    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Trophy Points:
    179
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas, United States of America
    Credit:
    P138,403.88
    Gamejolt ID:
    Tornado9797 7979odanroT
    Okay, maybe I'll find some other way to make a png...though I don't want to make my background again: it took a long time to make.

    You might want to add my issue to the guide in case others encounter it.
     
  12. nilllzz
    Offline

    nilllzz Kolben Developer

    • Administrator
    • P3D Developer
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Credit:
    P15,675.13
    Gamejolt ID:
    nilllzz
    I'll actually add an exception thrower in the program itself. And you can just open it in Paint (or any other image editing program) and export it as .png. As I said: Internally, the file stays the same when you rename it. Image files have headers that define their file type and content inside the file, and because P3D expects a .png header when it opens the bitmap file, it crashes.
     
  13. Tornado9797
    Offline

    Tornado9797 Content Developer

    • Global Moderator
    • P3D Developer
    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Trophy Points:
    179
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas, United States of America
    Credit:
    P138,403.88
    Gamejolt ID:
    Tornado9797 7979odanroT
    Just did this, and it worked. Thanks!
     
  14. Alf
    Offline

    Alf Trainer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    34
    Credit:
    P302.41
    Hi everyone! I want to create a custom content pack but when I try to convert the original xnb files to png with xnb exporter it crashes, do you have any suggestions?
    PS I used other tools and they didn't work either
     
  15. Alf
    Offline

    Alf Trainer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    34
    Credit:
    P302.41
    problem solved: the files I was converting were probably damaged
     

Share This Page